South Carolina | Criminal Law
Legal Question
This is the situation. I came down to see my girlfriend, but me and her parents don't get along. So i parked down the street at her neighbors house. To make a long story short when I came back to the car there were 2 police officers waiting. The initial problem was why was I parked right there and after explaining the situation the officer told me I was being charged with simple possession and THEN asked me to search the car. When she searched the car she found a marijuana roach in the ashtray that I estimate to be about 0.2 of a gram. She didnt arrest me but she wrote me a citation for it. The day before I recently had a cd player put in my car and god knows who was in my vehicle. I still have the receipt for the repair. I did not know that it was in my ashtray because I dont smoke I have no reason to look in my ashtray. My question is should I plead guilty or do as my conscious told me and plead not guilty and request a court trial with counsel by my side? I really dont need this charge on my record because I am currently in the process of enlisting into the US Air Force any help is gratefully appreciated. God bless.


