South Carolina | Criminal Law
Legal Question
is violation of probation for cdv of high and aggravated a felony,first ofence
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Robert Johnston |
I think you might be confusing two different things. If you were convicted for a CDV High and Aggravated, then that is a felony conviction. Now, if you were put on probatioin, that is a sentence, not a conviction. See the difference so far?
So, if you were on probation and now they are saying that you have violated your probation, that means that you will go in front of a judge to decide what to do. If they find that you did in fact violate your probation, then there is a number of different things the judge can do. But you still only have once felony conviction, and that is the CDV.
Probation is not a conviction. It is part of the sentencing for a conviction. Probation is not a felony. Only the CDV is a felony. Is this making sense?
Long story short. You were convicted of CDV, that means that you were convicted of a felony crime. Period.
Does this help? |
Top Attorneys in SC
Law Offices of Robert J. Johnston
Surfside Beach, SC
Questions Answered: 1894
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Law Office of John A. Jackson, P.C.
Charleston, SC
Questions Answered: 720
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
The Wallace Law Firm
High Point, NC
Questions Answered: 258
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Elizabeth Hyatt Robinson, Attorney at Law
Lancaster, SC
Questions Answered: 40
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-02-27
Cromer Law Firm, LLC
Anderson, SC
Questions Answered: 33
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-28
O'Neil Law Firm
Myrtle Beach, SC
Questions Answered: 15
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-11-19
Russell Mace & Associates P.A.
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 7
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-11-10
W. Pete Reid, Attorney at Law, LLC
Charleston, SC
Questions Answered: 6
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-05-30
Trenton H. Chambers, PA
Myrtle Beach, SC
Questions Answered: 3
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-04-22
Search Questions and Answers


