South Carolina | Family Law
Legal Question
If my attorney did not provide name change procedures and papers as was originally agreed upon when he was hired/prepaid for his services in the divorce ...what is my next course of action?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Ben Stevens |
If the case is still pending, then you should be able to amend your pleadings to request the name change. If not, then you can file a new action seeking a name change, but there are many more steps involved than there would be if it was part of the divorce.
These are complex issues, and it is important that they be handled correctly. Therefore, it is important that you consult an experienced family law attorney to find out what options are available to you based on the facts of your particular case.
If you need more information, you can visit my family law blog (www.SCFamilyLaw.com) or our website (www.StevensFirm.com). I wish you the best of luck.
Ben Stevens |
Top Attorneys in SC
The Stevens Firm, P.A. Family Law Center
Spartanburg, SC
Questions Answered: 1580
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law Office of John A. Jackson, P.C.
Charleston, SC
Questions Answered: 720
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
The Wallace Law Firm
High Point, NC
Questions Answered: 258
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Ferrene & Associates, PA
Hilton Head Island, SC
Questions Answered: 128
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-08-27
The Office of Russell W. Hall III
Myrtle Beach, SC
Questions Answered: 51
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-16
Cromer Law Firm, LLC
Anderson, SC
Questions Answered: 33
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-28
The Alston Law Firm
Irmo, SC
Questions Answered: 25
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-14
Metts Law Firm, LLC
Columbia, SC
Questions Answered: 11
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-24
Law Offices of Walter H. Smith
Columbia, SC
Questions Answered: 6
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-29
Search Questions and Answers


