South Carolina  |  Family Law

question bubble
6/15/00, 5:04 pm

Legal Question


Name change of a minor - named by mom on birth certificate

I recently moved to NY with my husband of 2 years. Before we were married, I had a son. I never married or lived with his father, nor is is name on the birth certificate. He has no visitation rights, nor has he ever requested them. Foolishly I listed my son's last name as his father's. Is there anyway to change it on the birth certificate- to my maiden name or my married name? Or can I request that my son be called a different last name at schools, doctor's offices, etc.? Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search