South Carolina  |  Family Law

question bubble
11/14/09, 6:23 pm

Legal Question


i have custody of child through georgia courts,i live in florida..if she visits her mother for holiday in south carolina will south carolina enforce my custody order if she try to keep her?


question bubble
11/22/09, 2:48 pm

Legal Answer


If the mother lives here in SC and she violated your out-of-state Order, you can pursue a contempt action against her here in SC if necessary.

These are complex issues, and it is important that they be handled correctly. Therefore, it is important that you consult an experienced family law attorney to find out what options are available to you based on the facts of your particular case.

If you need more information, you can visit my family law blog (www.SCFamilyLaw.com) or our website (www.StevensFirm.com). I wish you the best of luck.

Ben Stevens

Ben Stevens

The Stevens Firm, P.A. Family Law Center 1188 Asheville Highway Spartanburg, SC 29303

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search