South Carolina | Family Law
Legal Question
Can a father be charged with kidnapping if custdoy has not been established and the mother and father were not married if he gets the child and refuses to let the mother have her back?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Ben Stevens |
Yes, he can, because by statute in SC, the mother has custody of the child until and unless the Court orders otherwise. The purpose of this is not to give a preference to women, but rather to prevent baby-napping, as there is never an issue of maternity, but sometimes there is an issue of paternity.
These are complex issues, and it is important that they be handled correctly. Therefore, it is important that you consult an experienced family law attorney to find out what options are available to you based on the facts of your particular case.
If you need more information, you can visit my family law blog (www.SCFamilyLaw.com) or our website (www.StevensFirm.com). I wish you the best of luck.
Ben Stevens |
Top Attorneys in SC
The Stevens Firm, P.A. Family Law Center
Spartanburg, SC
Questions Answered: 1580
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law Office of John A. Jackson, P.C.
Charleston, SC
Questions Answered: 720
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
The Wallace Law Firm
High Point, NC
Questions Answered: 258
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Ferrene & Associates, PA
Hilton Head Island, SC
Questions Answered: 128
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-08-27
The Office of Russell W. Hall III
Myrtle Beach, SC
Questions Answered: 51
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-16
Cromer Law Firm, LLC
Anderson, SC
Questions Answered: 33
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-28
The Alston Law Firm
Irmo, SC
Questions Answered: 25
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-14
Metts Law Firm, LLC
Columbia, SC
Questions Answered: 11
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-24
Law Offices of Walter H. Smith
Columbia, SC
Questions Answered: 6
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-29
Search Questions and Answers


