South Carolina | Family Law
Legal Question
How can I move my husband out of my house. The house is in my name, and was purchase before we were married.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Ben Stevens |
Even though the house was purchased prior to marriage, it doesn't mean that some of the equity in the home is not marital. Assets can be part marital and part non-marital, and it's not at all unusual for things like houses and retirement accounts.
Now, as for how to get him out, that may be more difficult if there is no adultery, alcohol/drug abuse, or physical abuse by him. The specific facts of your case will help determine which steps you should take.
These are complex issues, and it is important that they be handled correctly. Therefore, it is important that you consult an experienced family law attorney to find out what options are available to you based on the facts of your particular case.
If you need more information, you can visit my family law blog (www.SCFamilyLaw.com) or our website (www.StevensFirm.com). I wish you the best of luck.
Ben Stevens |
Top Attorneys in SC
The Stevens Firm, P.A. Family Law Center
Spartanburg, SC
Questions Answered: 1580
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law Office of John A. Jackson, P.C.
Charleston, SC
Questions Answered: 720
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
The Wallace Law Firm
High Point, NC
Questions Answered: 258
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Ferrene & Associates, PA
Hilton Head Island, SC
Questions Answered: 128
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-08-27
The Office of Russell W. Hall III
Myrtle Beach, SC
Questions Answered: 51
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-16
Cromer Law Firm, LLC
Anderson, SC
Questions Answered: 33
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-28
The Alston Law Firm
Irmo, SC
Questions Answered: 25
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-14
Metts Law Firm, LLC
Columbia, SC
Questions Answered: 11
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-24
Law Offices of Walter H. Smith
Columbia, SC
Questions Answered: 6
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-29
Search Questions and Answers


