South Carolina  |  Family Law

question bubble
11/05/09, 7:48 pm

Legal Question


Warrant served in Duval Cty Florida for man living in Horry Cty SC for failure to pay child support and alimony. How do I enforce the warrant in SC to get him picked up?

So far I've been told 1. get him on the NCIC listing and the sheriff in SC can get him, 2. hire a SC atty and start at square 1, 3. have the warrant domesticated. Please tell me what you think. This has been going on for 11 months and I need to pursue. Thank you so much for your help.


question bubble
11/10/09, 11:02 pm

Legal Answer


The warrant will probably not benefit you directly unless the father is located and served/arrested in Florida. As for what SC can do, you can file a contempt action here, and it will be much easier for the Court to enforce it because he lives here.

These are complex issues, and it is important that they be handled correctly. Therefore, it is important that you consult an experienced family law attorney to find out what options are available to you based on the facts of your particular case.

If you need more information, you can visit my family law blog (www.SCFamilyLaw.com) or our website (www.StevensFirm.com). I wish you the best of luck.

Ben Stevens

Ben Stevens

The Stevens Firm, P.A. Family Law Center 1188 Asheville Highway Spartanburg, SC 29303

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search