South Carolina | Immigration Law
Legal Question
What happens if your marriage is illegal?
I married a Cuban immigrant (political refugee) on November 18, 1998. I have started to work on his immigration papers so that he can travel to Cuba and to see about bringing his mother to the US. The immigration officer told me that I needed to have his divorce papers from his previous marriage in Cuba in order to submit our papers. When I received the divorce certificate, it is dated May of 2000. My husband tells me that his x-wife had told him that she had gotten the divorce back in 1986. How do I go about getting this straightened out? Will we be penalized? What should I (we) do?
Thank you
MM


