Legal Question in Traffic Law in South Carolina

disregard traffic light

I received a ticket for disregard of a traffic light. I was watching the car that was following very closely behind me and by the time I saw the light, it was too late to slam on the breaks. I ws to upset to think of saying this to the officer(I thought about it after he wrote me the ticket). The ticket is for $150.00 and puts 4 points on my license, which I thought was unappropriate since I've had no traffic citations for 5 years now. Is this the common fine and points? Also, being that I have no money, if I went to court myself, is it possible to get the judge to both lower my fine and the points that would go on my license?

Asked on 3/22/04, 6:42 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Johnston Law Offices of Robert J. Johnston
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: disregard traffic light

The points and fine sound correct. You can go to court and ask for help. You may or may not get it, but you can try. Good luck.

Read more
Answered on 3/23/04, 7:31 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Traffic Law questions and answers in South Carolina

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88393 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now