Legal Question in Civil Litigation in South Dakota

Transfer of judgment

We have a small claims judgment in Utah and want to garnish a checking account in South Dakota. We have all of the info on the acct. We filed an exemplification letter in the Rapid City court with the fee. The question!

What do we need to file with this exemplification letter (copy of judgment is attached to it) in that court so that we can continue with the garnishment on the account? They returned our papers saying it was not complete and gave us the SDCL 15-6-4(a) for South Dakota. This stature is for obtaining a judgment which we already have. We just need to know what know what needs to be filed with it.

Thanks!

Asked on 10/29/04, 11:14 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Alvin Lundgren Alvin R. Lundgren, L.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Transfer of judgment

You need a court clerk certified (or exemplified) copy of the judgment with the court stamps.

Read more
10/29/04, 1:36 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in South Dakota

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88283 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

General Civil Litigation Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now