Tennessee | Civil Rights Law
Legal Question
Tennants in Common
My friend and I purchased land and built a house 12 years ago. She and I are both on the deed and motgage of the house. Over the years our frinedship began to be strained so she moved to another state 3 years ago. She has no intention of returning and refused to sign a quit claim prior to leaving and let me know she would not pay anything toward expenses. She has paid absolutely no mortgage payments, taxes, utilities, insurance...nothing...since she left. In fact, she paid very minimal the two years prior to leaving. I have documentation to prove the payments have been made from MY account only. I want to continue living here and would like to get the house solely in my name. What legal steps can I pursue to get the home titled strictly to me? What are the chances a judge would order it sold and split the profit, if any? Can I sue her for her share of the expenses she has failed to pay? There is no equity in the house. Several years ago she demanded half the equity and we refinanced at that time and she received her half of the equity. Please give me any information or recommendations on how to proceed to finally get this home titled in my name.


