Tennessee  |  Constitutional Law

question bubble
11/06/09, 2:47 pm

Legal Question


A co-worker left his cellphone at work. A supervisor opened his phone and read a message from me about another co-worker and said that I may be in trouble. Isn't that illegal? Like invasion of privacy?


question bubble
11/15/09, 1:13 am

Legal Answer


I don't think it is technically illegal. If the worker has any quantifiable damages, it is possible that a civil suit could be successful, but it's a long shot. You do not likely have any expectation of privacy to text messages after you send them - unless they are sent to your spouse or your lawyer.

Sarah Grosse

Sarah Grosse, Esquire sarahgrossejd@hotmail.com New Port Richey, FL 34655

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search