my ex has 3 previous DUIs (all in different states) and just received his 4th. Is there any way to find out if they are all on a database or if they will be counted against him? We are now in TN the last DUI - 8 yrs ago - was in GA. Thank you
1 Answer from Attorneys
Under Tennessee law, the prosecution can go back ten years for a prior DUI conviction. If they find one, they can go back ten years before that, and so on, but no more than 20 years from the most recent arrest.
So over time, DUI convictions "time out," and after 10 - 20 years the defendant is back as a first offender.
Yes, there is an interstate database, as a general rule all of the United States share DUI conviction history with each other.
But it is up to the prosecution in each case to plead and prove the required number of prior convictions needed to enhance punishment beyond "first offense."
In other words, the Defendant is not required to declare or admit his history, the District Attorney must plead it and prove it.
If he has behaved uprightly for eight years, depending on the circumstances of the arrest, the District Attorney might elect to reduce the charge even if technically it could be a second or later offense.
Obviously, talk to an attorney before making any decisions. 4th offense in Tennessee is a felony.
Related Questions & Answers
Okay, let me reword and give more details. My ex, who has had no contact with our... Asked 4/12/13, 8:39 pm in United States Tennessee Drunk Driving & DUI Law
Ex was convicted of 3 rd dui after flipping and totaling a jeep in march, 2012. He... Asked 4/12/13, 4:40 pm in United States Tennessee Drunk Driving & DUI Law
Can i apply for a restricted drivers license if I got a dui then two months later... Asked 3/24/13, 11:03 am in United States Tennessee Drunk Driving & DUI Law
I recd an accelerated 1st offense in tn, first one was in colorado, if i leave the... Asked 3/20/13, 4:24 pm in United States Tennessee Drunk Driving & DUI Law
I got my license taken away for a dui, then got a driving on revoke, was never made... Asked 3/11/13, 4:05 pm in United States Tennessee Drunk Driving & DUI Law