Tennessee  |  DUI Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 2/12/11, 10:21 pm

I was arrested for public intoxication after another person pushed me to the ground and I hit my head on the concrete. My question is, if I only had one drink, never been arrested before in my life, why wasn't I offered medical help due to the fact I had hit my head, was dizzy, then given a field sobriety test of walking a line and arrested for PI? Do I have rights? If I ask for a breathalyzer test why wasn't I given one? State of Tennessee. Thank you.

1 Answer


Answered on: 2/14/11, 7:49 am by Charles Bloodworth

Step One: An arrest is NOT a conviction. You still have theright to fully challenge your charge(s) in court.

Step Two: There is no requirement that you be given a blood or breath test on a Public Intoxication charge, because there is no "legal limit" for a PI charge.

Step Three: Tennessee requires more that simply being "intoxicated in public" to justify a conviction ... you must be:

- a danger to yourself, or;

-a danger to others, or;

- unreasonably annoy other people.

To be blunt, nobody is going to make a major case out of the Class C Misdemeanor of Public Intoxication, but you certainly don't need such a conviction on your record. Your best defense appears to be the testimony of those you were with at the time of your arrest. They can vouch for your non-intoxication and the injury to your head.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Attorney address not available

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

174 Answers given in the last few hours.

7528 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search