Tennessee | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
Cell Phone Fraud
I signed up for a cell phone account with a major carrier through a representative on eBay two months ago. I thought they were an authorized representative. I did not use any false information to open the account. The carrier cancelled my account today because the account was opened with fraudulent credit information. The carrier refuses to refund any of my money. I never paid the individual any money, just the carrier. This included two months of service, two new cell phones, two activation fees, taxes, etc. They also told me that I could not use the equipment if I opened another account through an authorized representative nor would they refund my activation fees or apply them to a new account. I had no knowledge that the account was opened fraudulently and it seems to me that the carrier received all the benefits even though fraud was involved and I'm out $672.00. My question is: Do I have any legal recourse with the carrier? And if so, should I try small claims court?


