Tennessee  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
8/04/04, 4:26 pm

Legal Question


Hit and Run Case, General Sessions, Get an ATTY?

Today I went to small claims court with an overwhelming

amount of evidence against a man who hit me and drove

off. He does not speak any English, likely an illegal

immigrant, but a translator was present. The judge said

he would not hear our case without this man having an

attorney. I came to small claims to avoid outrageous legal fees. So now I feel I have to spend a load more money

to get one so I don't get outwitted by a slick talker. Why

wouldn't the judge let the translator handle this? Why is

an attorney necessary?

Also, do I stand a chance in court without an attorney with him having one? I have loads of photographic, eyewitness, and phone records/evidence, but I worry about not knowing the ins and outs a lawyer knows and getting beat.


Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search