Tennessee | Immigration Law
Legal Question
I am on F-1 visa. My girl friend is a US Citizen. We are planing to get married soon. here is my issue, i got a DUI on Oct 25, 2008. my lawyer advised me to plead guilty so the charges will be reduced. On Jan 13, 2008 i was convicted with driving Reckless. since then i have completed my 6 month probation, payed the fines and the Alcohol school( there was nothing else). I was not aware of the immigration consequences when i plead guilty neither my lawyer mentioned it to me. Could you please help me to be aware of the consequences and what to expect when i apply for adjustment of status? what would be the most efficient way to handle this?
Thank you
Sincerely,
Nate
Legal Answer
When you are married, you should be able to apply for adjustment of status based on a marriage to a US citizen.
If you’d like to schedule a telephone legal consultation, please let me know, and I’d be glad to advise you: Attorney [@] law-visa-usa.com
Note: The above response is provided for legal information purposes only and should not be considered as legal advice. This response doesn’t create an attorney-client relationship, which can only be established through payment of a fee. If a follow-up advice on your specific situation and regarding U.S.A. immigration-related issues is requested, we can offer a paid consultation by telephone or email to clients from all States and globally. Please visit our website http://www.law-visa-usa.com/contact_us.html for more details. Our contact email address is Attorney [@] law-visa-USA.com
Smal Immigration Law Office PO Box 540531 Omaha, NE 68154
► Other answers from this attorney

