Tennessee | Immigration Law
Legal Question
Immigration and diorce
I am a legal perm resident with no conditions and I have recently got a divorce. do I have to fill a form out for the gov? and if I want to get remarried what do I do?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: John Messing |
Re: Immigration and diorce Generally speaking if permanent residency is without conditions then there is no need to fill out a form notifying the immigration authorities upon grant of divorce or remarriage, but the length of the marriage may become relevant during naturalization proceedings and it should be reported then, particularly if permanent residency was obtained on the basis of a now terminated marriage.
Any change of address of course must still be reported.
This is general information and not legal advice, there is no right to rely upon it, and no attorney-client relationship is created.
Good luck.
Website: www.messinglawoffices.com |
Top Attorneys in TN
Law Offices of Brian D. Lerner, A Professional Corporation
Long Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 1043
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Ajay K. Arora, Attorney-at-Law, P.C.
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 357
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Offices of Seeta Nangia
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 255
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-09
Pastor & Associates, P.C.
Troy, MI
Questions Answered: 176
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-30
Manchanda Law Offices PLLC
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 137
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-07-15
Jones & Landers, Attorneys At Law
Chattanooga, TN
Questions Answered: 130
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-09-11
Law Office of Bill Travis Klein
Long Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 18
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Law Office of Andrea M. Ayers
Nashville, TN
Questions Answered: 5
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-12-05
Gardiner & Associates
Knoxville, TN
Questions Answered: 5
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-11-01
Wilson & Associates, P.A.
Saint Paul, MN
Questions Answered: 3
Last Question Aswered on: 2001-08-02
Search Questions and Answers


