Tennessee | Immigration Law
Legal Question
immigration hold
If an inmate with a clean record has been put on immigration hold could he be released?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: John Messing |
Re: immigration hold By "clean record" I assume you mean lack of disciplinary punishment while incarcerated.
As a general matter, the nature of the crime for which you were convicted and not your good behavior while incarcerated counts for immigration detention following release from prison. If the crime was an "aggravated felony" as that term is defined in the immigration act the chances of release pending a hearing are very slim, and removal (deportation) is almost certain, with a permanent bar to returning to the U.S. If the crime is classified as one of "moral turpitude" the consequences are almost as severe.
If you can, consult with an immigration attorney. The immigration consequence of a criminal conviction is a highly technical area and requires experience to navigate successfully.
No attorney-client relationship is created by this exchange of postings. Good luck to you. |
Top Attorneys in TN
Law Offices of Brian D. Lerner, A Professional Corporation
Long Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 1043
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Ajay K. Arora, Attorney-at-Law, P.C.
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 357
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Offices of Seeta Nangia
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 255
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-09
Pastor & Associates, P.C.
Troy, MI
Questions Answered: 176
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-30
Manchanda Law Offices PLLC
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 137
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-07-15
Jones & Landers, Attorneys At Law
Chattanooga, TN
Questions Answered: 130
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-09-11
Law Office of Bill Travis Klein
Long Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 18
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Law Office of Andrea M. Ayers
Nashville, TN
Questions Answered: 5
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-12-05
Gardiner & Associates
Knoxville, TN
Questions Answered: 5
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-11-01
Wilson & Associates, P.A.
Saint Paul, MN
Questions Answered: 3
Last Question Aswered on: 2001-08-02
Search Questions and Answers


