Tennessee | Immigration Law
Legal Question
i am marrying a woman in the philippines. what do i need?\n
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Larry L. Doan |
Two ways you can proceed. First method is, you file a petition for fiancee with US Citizenship & Immigration Services (USCIS) in the US, and when that is approved, the file goes to US Consulate in Manila where she'll be called in for an interview for the fiancee visa. If approved, she comes to the US and must marry you within 90 days. Once the marriage is done, she is eligible to file the green card application in the US with USCIS. You two will be interviewed here.
Second method is, you marry her there, and you come back to the US and file an I-130 relative petition for her (she cannot come to the US yet at this stage). Once that is approved, the file is sent to Manila where she?ll be called in for an interview to receive her immigrant visa, which is permanent residence (same as a green card).
The second method is slower as far as actually getting her to come to the U.S. to be with you.
In both cases these petitions will be heavily examined by USCIS for evidence that your relationship is genuine. You will most likely need an attorney's assistance or else the delay will be years. Philippines is one of the countries most scrutinized, among other countries, because a lot of young ladies there simply are looking to marry for green cards.
Larry L. Doan
www.GuruImmigration.com http://guruimmigration.wordpress.com (blog) |
Top Attorneys in TN
Law Offices of Brian D. Lerner, A Professional Corporation
Long Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 1043
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Ajay K. Arora, Attorney-at-Law, P.C.
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 357
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Offices of Seeta Nangia
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 255
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-09
Pastor & Associates, P.C.
Troy, MI
Questions Answered: 176
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-30
Manchanda Law Offices PLLC
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 137
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-07-15
Jones & Landers, Attorneys At Law
Chattanooga, TN
Questions Answered: 130
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-09-11
Law Office of Bill Travis Klein
Long Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 18
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Law Office of Andrea M. Ayers
Nashville, TN
Questions Answered: 5
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-12-05
Gardiner & Associates
Knoxville, TN
Questions Answered: 5
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-11-01
Wilson & Associates, P.A.
Saint Paul, MN
Questions Answered: 3
Last Question Aswered on: 2001-08-02
Search Questions and Answers


