Tennessee  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
11/08/09, 10:12 am

Legal Question


When you use a name on a shirt for profitable gain: Is it the full name of the person which will get you in trouble or is it safe to use just their last name? This person is very recognizable in sports...


question bubble
11/13/09, 2:32 pm

Legal Answer


It is not "safe" to use either one. People have rights of publicity, and sports figures especially capitalize on their names, personas, and images to sell products, promote their teams, etc. You would be infringing on the person's rights of publicity, and quite possibly a trademark.

Sarah Grosse

Sarah Grosse, Esquire sarahgrossejd@hotmail.com New Port Richey, FL 34655

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search