Legal Question in Intellectual Property in Tennessee

I am a teacher at a charter school. At my school, we take the state educational standards and break them down creating our own assessments, lesson plans, and daily documents. we do not use any published curriculum. I created all these documents myself spending about 80 hours a week working on this. I am leaving my school at the end of the year and my school has asked me to put all of my documents on a flash drive to give to them for their new teacher for next year. I feel that these are my documents and do not want another teacher just ripping off my stuff after I spent so many hours on them. Do I have any legal grounds here to refuse or copyright?

Asked on 5/15/13, 8:19 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

John Barney Barney Law Firm
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

You probably do not have any claim to the materials. Since you wrote them within the scope of your work at the school, they would likely be considered work for hire and belong to your employer.

Read more
5/21/13, 10:00 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Intellectual Property questions and answers in Tennessee

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88263 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Intellectual Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now