Tennessee | Employment Law
Legal Question
it is legal in the state of tn to fire an employee of a food establishment based on extremely bad personal hygine? and if so can that employee sue the company on any basis
it is legal in the state of tn to fire an employee of a food establishment based on extremely bad personal hygine? and if so can that employee sue the company on any basis
|
Read More Answered By: James R. Becker, Jr. |
Tennessee is what is known as an at-will state. That means that an employer can fire an employee for a good reason, bad reason or no reason at all. Some of the more prevalent exceptions to this general rule are that an employer cannot discriminate against an employee or retaliate against an employee for taking some action the law gives the employee the right to do. |
Memphis, TN
Questions Answered: 755
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-13
Memphis, TN
Questions Answered: 362
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-09-04
Franklin, TN
Questions Answered: 296
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-05-30
Little Rock, AR
Questions Answered: 241
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-09-05
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 155
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Franklin, TN
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-03-22
Knoxville, TN
Questions Answered: 5
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-11-01
Memphis, TN
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Tullahoma, TN
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Knoxville, TN
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
► Is it too late to sue company for firing someone for violating a new policy, yet 3...
► I have been at my job for 4 years. I only have 1 disiplinary action against me in...
► I've recently file a discrimination charge with the eeoc against my employer based...
► I was involved in an investigation regarding misconduct in August 2008; I was...
► I recently learned that a memo naming me and several others was sent to team leaders...
► I work at an elementary school. My principal gives the secretary in our office...
► Can a employer take money from your check? my wife works at a foodland store for 1...
More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Tennessee| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press