Tennessee  |  Legal Ethics

question bubble
9/29/04, 11:40 am

Legal Question


Legal age range for dating.

I am not sure if I choose the correct area for this question. I am trying to figure out what is the legal age range in Tennessee to date someone that is older/younger then you. I know in some states it is different, but I am unaware of what Tennessee's Law is on this matter. Please help me.


question bubble
9/29/04, 12:14 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Legal age range for dating.

I wish we lived in a world where "dating" meant simply platonic dating, as with my parent's generation. An adult cannot have sex with a minor under the age of 18 -- and that includes a prohibition on fondling, carressing, etc. I am not an expert in this area, but I believe minors who have consensual sex with other minors or with an adult no more than 3 years older than they are would not trigger the statutory rape laws. But do not take my word for it on the 3-year age difference. You need to investigate that point yourself. A person who reaches age 18 is a legal adult and can decide for himself/herself who she wants to date -- assuming she is not impaired and has mental capacity to make those decisions for herself.

Dr. Michael A. S. Guth

Tennessee Attorney at Law Assists Pro Se (without a lawyer) Parties
116 Oklahoma Ave.
Oak Ridge, TN 37830-8604

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search