Tennessee  |  Legal Malpractice

question bubble
10/16/99, 11:45 am

Legal Question


Attorneys Misleading Court

Is there any penalty against attorney's and their clients when the attorneys knowingly omit information and actually lie in the papers they file?

I live in California and have a web site about the business practices of a mega corporation. Last year, I was sued by that corporation in California on the basis of defamation. I won an anti-SLAPP suit in which the judge stated the web site is an issue of freedom of speech and in the public's interest and that the defendants would be unlikely to prevail at trial.

Last week, I was served papers again. This time, the corporation has filed suit against me in a federal court in Tennessee, citing the Lanham Act. In the documents they submitted to the court, they lied and stated that I am engaged in commercial use. They also conveniently omitted the fact that the Lanham Act specifically excludes non-commercial use.

This is clearly legal harassment intended to silence me and to keep information from the public. Will I have to incur more debt to maintain my freedom of speech, or can I write a letter to the judge stating the facts in the hopes he will throw the case out?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search