Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Tennessee

The county I live in passed an ordinance abandoning an old farm road behind my property. The ordinance states the property of the old road is now divided down the middle and reverts to property owners on either side. Now a third party has bought a forty acre tract behind us and wants to reopen the old road to access for further development. He does own other property in the existing subdivision that would allow access to the forty acres. My question is the city ordinance enough to prevent a road from reopening if the city abandoned it sixteen years ago?

Asked on 6/12/13, 7:07 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

John Barney Barney Law Firm
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

If half of the road really did revert to you as owner after it was abandoned, I do not see how that other party could reopen it without your consent.

Read more
6/15/13, 8:51 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Tennessee

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88273 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now