Tennessee  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
10/23/09, 7:58 pm

Legal Question


My brother was in a nursing home for the last months of his life, he has no hildren or family other than me. The nursing home was sending me bills when he was alive, and I spoke with them and told them I could not write checks or pay bills on his behalf. I asked them to take my name off well they have ramped up the harassment since he has passed. They call me 4 times a day and I was getting bills daily now I am getting certified mail that I refuse to sign for. My brother had no estate or property to go thru probate. The only thing he has is a fifteen hundred dollar checking account that the nursing home wants me to write a check from. I cannot afford the cost or time of going thru probate, I am fine with letting the debtors figure it out. My question is am I legally respoinsible for his bills? and can the nursing home continue to harass me and place my name on delinquent bills that could possibly effect my credit?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search