Tennessee  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
11/11/09, 8:42 pm

Legal Question


My dad just died. I have his will. I have step brothers and sisters. They are not in his will. They want half of his monies. Where do I stand


question bubble
11/16/09, 9:09 pm

Legal Answer


I'm very sorry for your loss.

If the will is proven in probate court, the terms of the will govern.

Even if the will were to fail in some way, it should not matter. Stepchildren have no right of inheritance, even when a person dies without a will.

Your stepbrothers and stepsisters have no claim upon your father's estate simply by virtue of being your father's stepchildren.

Tim Ferraris

Tim Ferraris, Attorney at Law http://timferraris.com Knoxville, TN 37909

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/18/09, 1:18 pm

Legal Answer


I would suggest admitting the Will to Probate so that it can be established that these stepchildren are not rightful heirs to the Estate. If you have any questions about the process, feel free to contact my office.

Michael McNulty

McNulty & Associates 211 Printers Alley, Suite 601 Nashville, TN 37201

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search