Texas  |  Personal Injury

Legal Question

Asked on: 11/12/12, 6:56 pm

My daughter was in a wreck that totaled her car, the other party was at fault and left the scene. The other party was apprehended and charged with dwi, and also was wanted. The at fault insurance company is trying to settle for little of nothing. Do I need to get an attorney?

5 Answers


Answered on: 11/12/12, 9:42 pm by David Leon

Yes.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


David L. Leon, P.C. 3500 Oak Lawn Ave., Ste. 205 Dallas, TX 75219

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 11/13/12, 6:40 am by Paul Cannon

Yes. They will try to get the bodily injury claim settled before you can understand that dwi defendants risk punitive damage awards making the cases more valuable than a run of the mill wreck. You should definitely have your daughter speak to a lawyer to understand her rights.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Simmons and Fletcher, P.C. 9821 Katy Freeway, Suite 925 Houston, TX 77024

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 11/13/12, 6:56 am by Jeffrey Brashear

Based on your question, the simple answer is YES. You should consider obtaining a local law firm to assist you with protecting your daughter's interests and rights. There are many items to consider when dealing with a party who may have been under the influence and operating a motor vehicle which resulted in an accident causing injuries.

The above response given is not intended to create, nor does it create an on-going duty to respond to questions. Additionally, the response does not form an attorney-client relationship, nor is it intended to be anything other than an educated opinion. It should not be relied upon as legal advice. The response given is based upon the limited facts provided by the person asking the question. To the extent additional or different facts exist, the response might possibly change.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


The Brashear Law Firm, PLLC 16350 Park Ten Place, Suite 143 Houston, TX 77084

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 11/13/12, 7:04 am by Donald McLeaish

If you had full coverage and only property damage is involved, you own insurer should pay a fair price less deductible...so you are not relying on other insurer. If anyone had injuries, you need a lawyer..


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


McLeaish&Associates;, P.C. 402 West Wheatland Duncanville, TX 75116

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 11/13/12, 10:52 am by Parker Polan

Yes, you need to consider speaking with an attorney. Drunk driving isn't an accident, it's a choice. These cases should not be settled for less than the policy limits of the drunk driver.

http://www.injurylawyersaustintx.com/Personal-Injury/Car-Accidents/Drunk-Driving-Accidents.aspx


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Briggle & Polan, PLLC 812 San Antonio St., Ste. 310 Austin, TX 78701

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

209 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search