Texas  |  Personal Injury

Legal Question

Asked on: 9/12/10, 2:03 pm

A doctor's gross negligence caused my son's death. Can I file a wrongful death lawsuit with survuval action on a case like this?

4 Answers


Answered on: 9/17/10, 3:16 pm by Roger Merrill

Yes. Medical malpractice cases, however, involve complex procedural issues. If not done properly, a plaintiff could end up paying substantial fees on top of losing the case. So, you need to hire an attorney. I handle cases throughout Texas. Please let me know if I can help.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Merrill & Associates 1770 Saint James Place, Suite 410 Houston, TX 77056

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 9/17/10, 4:52 pm by Parker Polan

Yes. You can file a wrongful death suit. You have two years from the date of death to bring a claim. I'd be happy to speak with you about this. 512-751-0680


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Briggle & Polan, PLLC 812 San Antonio St., Ste. 310 Austin, TX 78701

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 9/17/10, 6:13 pm by David Leon

There are two sets of things going on here. THe first is the wrongful death case. That is a cause of action owned by the parents, children and spouse of the deceased. The second one is called 'survival' is available to the estate (and the heirs of the estate). Wrongful death is for your personal loss, and survival is for the pain and suffering the deceased suffered pre-death. As others have mentioned, these are highly complex cases, and the Texas legislature has put up incredible hurdles to plaintiffs seeking to pursue these cases. Make sure you hire someone who knows what they are doing.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


David L. Leon, P.C. 3500 Oak Lawn Ave., Ste. 205 Dallas, TX 75219

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 9/20/10, 7:31 am by Edgardo Baez

I would answer the same, yes. Do you have all the medical records? If so, you can contact us, we can help.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


The Baez Law Firm, P.C. 1100 NW Loop 410, Suite 365 San Antonio, TX 78213

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

115 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search