Texas  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
2/02/07, 1:15 pm

Legal Question


Ex-girlfriend won't return computer I purchased

I purchased a computer for myself when I was deployed overseas. I had the computer delivered to my ex-girlfriend's place because that's where I was living.

Long story short, our relationship wasn't working out too well after I got back home. I decided to move out of her place in a hurry, but left my computer there. She knew before I left that I was going to come back to pick it up at a later date. After repeated attempts to setup that date, she told me she ''felt it was some what of a gift,'' so she would NOT give it back.

I have statements documenting I purchased the computer. I have email responses where she states she feels the computer is hers to keep, because it's compensation for a relationship gone bad.

I know what a gift is, and I never asked to get those gifts back, but a 1600 computer was not one of them, so I feel I should be able to get my computer back.

I know I'd have to take this to a small claims court, but what are my chances of being awarded a settlement? I have proof of purchase and emails asking to get it back, which show her reluctance because she's upset. The emails demonstrate that computer was NOT a gift.

Do I have a case???


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search