Texas  |  Medical Malpractice

question bubble
6/23/02, 1:20 pm

Legal Question


Post Delivery Incompetence - RV Fistula

My wife delivered a baby last October normal delivery and after delivery She had stools coming out from the vaginal area and the OBGYN kept telling us that everything will be fine and healed up whereas we didnt even know that she had a fistula and thats why this was happening. The OBGYN kept telling that there is no infection etc but wife keep screaming and crying whenever she went for passing stools. After six weeks we went to our Primary Care Physician and she refered us to a Colo Rectal Surgeon who when he looked at it immediately said that her whole rectal area was infected. My wife appraently had a very deep tear which got compounded by the neglect / imcompetence show by the OBGYN. The colorectal surgeon said that he would need to completely remove the wall between the rectum and the vagina, redirect the stools by doing a colostomy for 6-8 months and rebuild the wall using sphincteroplasty ( after the 6-8 month period ) and then do the reversal of the colostomy. My wife has just now had the rebuilding wall and still suffering. My wife has gone through living hell. How strong is this case - infact we realized that the OBGYN is registered as an anaesthisiologist under the board?things I need to do in order to sue this OBGYN?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search