Texas | Family Law
Legal Question
Is there such a thing as a post-nuptial agreement
My parents would like to put their property in my name but without my husband having any claim to it. Is this possible?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Laura Heard |
Re: Is there such a thing as a post-nuptial agreement Yes. You stated that your parents want to gift some property to you without your husband having a claim. There are a number of ways this can be accomplished, but the best thing to know is that in Texas anything that you receive by gift or inheritance is automatically your separate property as long as you don't intermingle it with community property. If your parents give you real estate as a gift, then the judge cannot take it away from you in a divorce property division unless you do something to make a gift of that property to your husband. Be sure not to use your income, which is community property, to make house payments or renovations to the home, or he may have a claim against the house. If you are in the process of getting divorced, the court will also honor a nonrevocable written agreement between spouses. Otherwise, a post-nuptial agreement is possible, but will require that each of the spouses have separate attorneys and that some payment be given to support the agreement. Your parents might want to consider using a trust as a means of conveyance in some cases. It would be wise to consult with an attorney about your complete financial picture if you are contemplating divorce in the near future, because although the judge cannot give your separate property to your husband, he might make an unequal division of community property because of your separate property. An attorney can better advise you on your parents' gift if the attorney knows all the details of your particular situation and the reasoning behind the gift. |
Top Attorneys in TX
Langford Law Firm
Plano, TX
Questions Answered: 5365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
BUSHMAN LAW OFFICES
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 1632
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-19
Law Office of S. Keith Engelke
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 1565
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
The Ryals Law Firm
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1215
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
The Brashear Law Firm, PLLC
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 923
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
The Baez Law Firm, P.C.
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 840
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-28
Power Daley PLLC
Plano, TX
Questions Answered: 651
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-04
The Lee Law Firm
Austin, TX
Questions Answered: 567
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Bob Leonard Law Group, PLLC
Fort Worth, TX
Questions Answered: 490
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-16
Search Questions and Answers


