Texas  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
10/27/09, 9:03 pm

Legal Question


I filed for Chapter 7 bankruptcy in 2005. I only included credit cards in my bankruptcy. My mortgage company, however, reported on my credit report that the mortgage was included in the discharge of my bankruptcy. I was never late during the entire time of my bankruptcy through 4 years later when the home was sold. This record on my credit report is showing to be negative information and has an impact on my score from only credit reporting agency. The other credit reporting agencies that do not list this information has my credit score 36 points higher. I disputed the information and was told that the creditor reports the information to be correct. I contacted the mortgage company and they informed me that they had a right to report that information on my credit even though they were not included. Is there a remedy to remove this negative information from my credit report?


question bubble
11/02/09, 5:26 pm

Legal Answer


Creditors have a right to report true information. You can file an explanation in your credit report. You can state that the mortgage company was not listed as a creditor and therefore the discharge did not cover them. I suggest you contact your bankruptcy attorney to help you draft this language. The attorney may have some ideas about what to do about the mortgage company's actions.

Keith Engelke

Law Office of S. Keith Engelke
2313 Lockhill Selma Road #224
San Antonio, TX 78230

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search