Texas | Business Law
Legal Question
I am the president of my C-corp and my wife is the vice-president. My wife has been sued by her ex-husband with a petition to modify (child support). She is exclusively named in the suit, neither I nor our corporation. She was subpoenaed to produce financial statements for her personal earnings, etc., but was also asked to produce financial statements for our company.
Do they have the right to subpoena that information when the corporation is not the subject of the suit and she (and I) do not hold a majority stake in the company?
Would it behoove me to retain a lawyer (for the corporation) to respond to her ex-husband's attorney?


