Legal Question in Business Law in Texas

Verbal agrements

I own an aircondition company, I hired my brother in law to work at my aircondition company. After 10 months of working with me I decided to buy some property in his neighborhood and build a home to sell it. He had past construction history so I asked if he would be interested in helping me build it. So he helped me build it and I ended up firing him shortly after we built the house. Now he is trying to sue me for half of the profit from the home when it sells. He is saying we had a verbal agreement to split the profits. I never made an agreement with him in anyway. He worked for me and I paid him weekly with a company check from my aircondition company. Can he win a lawsuit based on him saying we had a verbal agreement?

Asked on 6/21/06, 1:27 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Peter Bradie Bradie, Bradie & Bradie
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Verbal agrements

He can raise the issue but the odds are against him winning.

Read more
6/21/06, 10:05 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Business Law questions and answers in Texas

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88127 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Business Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now