Texas  |  Constitutional Law

question bubble
1/18/06, 9:30 am

Legal Question


What is deferred judification?

What is deferred judification and how is it used concerning citaions against you? Thank you.


question bubble
1/18/06, 3:39 pm

Legal Answer


Re: What is deferred judification?

Deferred Adjudication

A deferred adjudication probation is a type of court ordered community supervision that results in dismissal of the case upon successful completion of the terms and conditions of the probation. It differs from a regular probation in that there is no finding of guilt because after hearing the plea the court Defers a finding of guilt pending good behavior while on probation.

There is a catch. A deferred adjudication will appear on a criminal background check, which often has the same practical impact as a conviction to potential employers, government agencies etc. However, after successful completion of all terms and conditions of a deferred adjudication probation, you can apply to have the records “sealed” from public inspection by filing a Petition for Non-Disclosure. Again, this has its limitations as government agencies will still have the ability to pull up the records.



JOHN T. FLOYD LAW FIRM – HOUSTON CRIMINAL DEFENSE LAWYER

WWW.JOHNTFLOYD.COM

John Floyd

John T. Floyd Law Firm - HOUSTON FEDERAL CRIMINAL LAWYER 600 Travis, Ste. 7070 Houston, TX 77002

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search