Texas | Consumer Law
Legal Question
My air conditioning unit was in need of replacement, so I called around for repair quotes.
Each quote included a tax deduction in the amount of $1500.00 on my 2010 taxes. I explained to them that I did not pay taxes due to being on disability, but they assured me that I would receive a rebate check after filing. After agreeing to an installation I researched the deduction (Rebate) over the internet and found the anwer in back and white. At such time I printed the information out and showed it to the company service saleman, who ask me if I had any family member of friends that filed income taxes, and he would issue the tax deduction paper in their names. I still tried to explain the deduction as not a rebate, but a duction on the taxes, and that this would not benefit my expenses in any way. In short, is this legal sales representation, and can something be done to stop this company from doing this to other people.


