Texas | Consumer Law
Legal Question
What can a bar/club/venue legally do to patrons who carry alcohol onto the premises, but they do not have their policies/rules listed anywhere, via Online,Newspapers, fliers,etc?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Theresa Langford |
The following notes were taken directly from the TABC FAQ
It is ILLEGAL to take any alcoholic beverage into a restaurant/bar that has a private club permit or a mixed beverage permit (distilled spirits in addition to beer/wine). You can't leave with an alcoholic beverage, unless it is a bottle of wine you bought with a meal and did not finish.
It is LEGAL to take alcoholic beverages into or out of a restaurant/bar that has a beer/wine permit (no distilled spirits), or an establishment that does not have a permit to sell alcohol. However, the business may have their own rules against it.
Your question raises many questions, the first being, if the business has house rules, why not post them? It would resolve the problem, since you then are squarely wtihin your rights to refuse service. |
Top Attorneys in TX
Langford Law Firm
Plano, TX
Questions Answered: 5365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
McLeaish&Associates;, P.C.
Duncanville, TX
Questions Answered: 2501
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
The Ryals Law Firm
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1216
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
The Baez Law Firm, P.C.
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 840
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-28
The Lee Law Firm
Austin, TX
Questions Answered: 567
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Sharon K. Campbell
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 559
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-02
Law office of Basil Hoyl
Bedford, TX
Questions Answered: 422
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-06
Cheng Copeland PLLC
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 419
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-24
The Practice of Gerald R. Yoakum, P.C. A Full Service Law Firm
Houston & Surrounding Counties, TX
Questions Answered: 342
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-08
Patel & Warren, PLLC
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 114
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-29
Search Questions and Answers


