Texas | Consumer Law
Legal Question
Dell online orders being cancelled
On 10/9/2003 www.dell.com had posted an offer for a Dimension 4600 PC. The PC had a $400 discount as well as $100 mail-in rebate. Dells site allowed you to modify the configuration by downgrading components. After downgrading, the price of the system after discount and rebate was $139.
Dell acknowledged the orders and many hours later sent out confirmations to hundreds/thousands of people. Later the next day, Dell stated that all of the orders were cancelled due to a pricing error and offered a link to the ''correct'' system (with a higher price).
A number of people have now received their machines at the quoted price while others are getting nothing.
Since there was an order, and confirmation (done by a human?), should Dell have to honor the price?
What does it mean that some of the orders, made after Dell tried to fix the “problem”, are being filled?
Does their offer of the ''correct'' system and its inability to be configured as the base system in the original web page constitute bait and switch?
Can Dell be taken to small claims court over this? If so, can we file in our own state, or would it have to be taken up in Dell’s home state?
Thank you.


