Texas | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
Credit Card Debts Made Without My Knowledge
My husband was a contractor who worked all over the world. He passed away in June, 2000. He had multiple credit cards with very large amounts owing on them. They are all in his name and not mine. (I never legally changed my name to his). I never knew about these debts til much later when creditors are trying to collect. As far as I'm concerned, these cards were obtained by deceit. Am I liable for these debts?
Legal Answer
Re: Credit Card Debts Made Without My Knowledge
You could be liable for some of the debt to the extent it originated in the purchase of "necessities" such as medical care and the like.
The question is tricky and complicated, and requires an analysis of the debts and the charges behind them.
There are undoubtedly many charges for which you bear no legal responsiblity, and if you listen to the card companies on this point you will be mislead. They will tell you most anything they think will scare you into paying.
Contact a credit counseling service in your community and enlist their aid in analyzing the account to see if you are liable for any of the debt under community property laws.
Charles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLC PO Bx 984 Los Lunas, NM 87031-0984
► Other answers from this attorney
Legal Answer
Re: Credit Card Debts Made Without My Knowledge
I have already talked to you. I have reviewed the letter you sent and I would like for you to contact me again via e-mail.
Thanks,
Law Office of James P. Grissom 3507 West Alberta Rd. Edinburg,, TX 78539
► Other answers from this attorney

