Texas | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
What does Discovery Level 1 mean? On the suit the attorney is seeking Discovery under Level 1
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Theresa Langford |
Discovery Control Level One is governed by the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 190.2:
190.2 Discovery Control Plan-Suits Involving $50,000 or Less (Level 1).
(a.) Application. This subdivision applies to:
(1) any suit in which all plaintiffs affirmatively plead that they seek only monetary relief aggregating $50,000 or less, excluding costs, pre-judgment interest and attorneys' fees, and
(2) any suit for divorce not involving children in which a party pleads that the value of the marital estate is more than zero but not more than $50,000.
(b) Exceptions. This subdivision does not apply if:
(1) the parties agree that Rule 190.3 should apply;
(2) the court orders a discovery control plan under Rule 190.4; or
(3) any party files a pleading or an amended or supplemental pleading that seeks relief other than that to which this subdivision applies.
A pleading, amended pleading (including trial amendment), or supplemental pleading that renders this subdivision no longer applicable may not be filed without leave of court less than 45 days before the date set for trial. Leave may be granted only if good cause for filing the pleading outweighs any prejudice to an opposing party.
(c) Limitations. Discovery is subject to the limitations provided elsewhere in these rules and to the following additional limitations:
(1) Discovery period. All discovery must be conducted during the discovery period, which begins when the suit is filed and continues until 30 days before the date set for trial.
(2) Total time for oral depositions. Each party may have no more than six hours in total to examine and cross-examine all witnesses in oral depositions. The parties may agree to expand this limit up to ten hours in total, but not more except by court order. The court may modify the deposition hours so that no party is given unfair advantage.
(3) Interrogatories. Any party may serve on any other party no more than 25 written interrogatories, excluding interrogatories asking a party only to identify or authenticate specific documents. Each discrete subpart of an interrogatory is considered a separate interrogatory.
(d) Reopening discovery. When the filing of a pleading or an amended or supplemental pleading renders this subdivision no longer applicable, the discovery period reopens, and discovery must be completed within the limitations provided in Rules 190.3 or 190.4, whichever is applicable. Any person previously deposed may be redeposed. On motion of any party, the court should continue the trial date if necessary to permit completion of discovery.
|
Top Attorneys in TX
Langford Law Firm
Plano, TX
Questions Answered: 5365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
McLeaish&Associates;, P.C.
Duncanville, TX
Questions Answered: 2501
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
The Ryals Law Firm
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1216
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
The Lee Law Firm
Austin, TX
Questions Answered: 567
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Sharon K. Campbell
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 559
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-02
Law office of Basil Hoyl
Bedford, TX
Questions Answered: 422
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-06
Cheng Copeland PLLC
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 419
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-24
Charles J. Williamson, Attorney At Law
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 325
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-20
Patel & Warren, PLLC
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 114
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-29
Law Office of Greg Wiley PLLC
Plano, TX
Questions Answered: 102
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-25
Search Questions and Answers


