Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Texas

Financed appliances with 5/30, signed contract shook hands, etc. My things were delivered on 5/31 and 1st payment due 7/10. Middle of June I get a call saying they lost the copy of my driver's license and they need me to resign contract as well as get another copy of license. I thought that didn't sound right but I said keep looking I don't feel like doing this all over again.

Today 7/9 still haven't received a payment book for 1st payment so I call customer service, they have no record of an acct#. Call the store I signed contract with they don't have acct# either. Employee says come in to resign contract or this will go on my credit report. They say signature on license doesnt match signature on contract. I've signed bank contracts, credit card etc, with same signature and have never had this problem.

Is it legal for them to ask me to resign a contract because my signature doesnt match? and if I do, there were things on the original contract I didn't want like warranty, can I then ask to remove warranty since we're re signing the contract?

thanks for any help

Asked on 7/09/13, 1:17 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Donald McLeaish McLeaish&Associates;, P.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

No legal duty to resign but u still owe so I'd just pay

Read more
7/09/13, 2:07 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Texas

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8661 active attorneys ready to answer your legal qustions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessHuntington Beach, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now