Texas  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
10/16/00, 6:55 pm

Legal Question


Non Notice of Debt over 5 years old

My daughter was taken over 5 years ago to a emergency room with a plan that would cover it 100%. Now almost 6 years later, I hear from a collection agency claiming that the physician did not get paid for that visit. Of course, the insurance company which I have now changed and my daughter is no longer covered by me has no record of this. Also I never received a bill for this at the time. How do I handle this and should I forward this to her father that handles these debts? According to my divorce.


question bubble
11/14/00, 5:01 am

Legal Answer


Re: Non Notice of Debt over 5 years old

Respond to the collection agency, in writing, certified mail, that this is a disputed account and that full verification is demanded under the Federal Fair Collection Practices Act.

Notify the child's father by sending him a copy of the correspondence you got.

This debt, if valid, may be barred by the statute of limitations.

Email us if you wish a further no cost/obligation consultation.

Charles Aspinwall

Charles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLC PO Bx 984 Los Lunas, NM 87031-0984

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search