Texas  |  Credit and Debt Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 2/07/11, 10:41 am

We reside in the state of Texas. My husband was let go from his job and has been employed on again and off again since December 2009, we have had a few credit card companies file default judgements against us because we were not able to make our payments. With a default judgement can they seize are bank accounts? As soon as we see he has a stable income we want to file for bankruptcy but we don;t have the money to do it yet.

2 Answers


Answered on: 2/08/11, 10:58 pm by Charles Williamson

The short answer is Yes, they can put a freeze on your money deposited in your bank accounts. The interesting part of what you've described is that they've taken default judgments. Were you notified of the court hearing(s) before the default judgments were taken? If not, the judgments could be null and void and you could get the judgments thrown out. In the meantime, get your money ouf of deposit accounts (savings, checking) and hold it as cash.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Charles J. Williamson, Attorney At Law 11826 Poplar Creek Drive Houston, TX 77077

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 2/09/11, 9:49 pm by Charles Williamson

Yes, they can and probably will.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Charles J. Williamson, Attorney At Law 11826 Poplar Creek Drive Houston, TX 77077

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

130 Answers given in the last few hours.

7566 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search