Texas  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
10/22/09, 7:42 pm

Legal Question


I was arrested for Assault Married over 11 years ago, and sice I had no money to hire my own atty I had a court appointed attorney that asked for deferred adjudication and I completed the courses, paid the fine, and did the community service as well as showed up for every visit I was told to. Since then I have had to pass up on jobs that were government related because of this. The only thing that does show up on my record is the arrest and I would like to know if that is something I can get expunged. I know I have more on my record from my past of making mistakes and dumb decisions (non of them felony's) and none of those stopped me from serving in the military. I am not running away from my actions from 11 years ago, but it does limit what I can do for my kids as far as upward mobility at my job.

I made a mistake that cannot be undone, but how long does one person have to carry the cross for a mistake? I look at these guys that get busted 3 times for DUI or selling drugs or whatever and it never affects them, and what they did could very well kill someone and what I did pales in comparison.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search