Texas  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
11/02/09, 12:54 pm

Legal Question


I got arrested for prostitution in the state of Texas; they told me it’s a Class B misdemeanor. I was part of a sting operation that the Arlington Police Department was doing. I have never been arrested since I was an adult; I'am 29, what could happen to me and my job. My job does back ground checks every two years because of the gaming license. I know I made a mistake but I can’t imagine losing everything that I have worked for and my carrier. I want to remove it and make it look like never happened. Is that possible?


question bubble
11/08/09, 10:38 am

Legal Answer


Maybe sort of. First time prositution is a Class B misdemeanor. I am not familiar with the courts in your area but I think you could get deferred adjudication probation.

The advantage to deferred is that there is no conviction, however your record will reflect that you got deferred and that you were arrested. If this is successfully completed, you could file a motion for nondisclosure, although you may have to wait 2 years after the completion of the deferred adjudication. An order for nondisclosure eliminates the arrest and deferred from most records however, it will remain available to the courts, law enforcement and certain agencies. This might include the agency administering the gaming license you mentioned.

You need to retain an attorney to help you with this.

Good Luck.

Keith Engelke

Law Office of S. Keith Engelke 2313 Lockhill Selma Road #224 San Antonio, TX 78230

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search