Legal Question in Criminal Law in Texas

I had asked the question about the validity of a plea bargain agreement for a lesser charge that the statute of limitations had expired on already. (I am the victim in the case not the defendant).

The offense occurred almost 7 years ago. The charges weren't filed on the case until 6 months ago though. The plea bargain agreement was agreed to in court last week. It's now a done deal. The original charge the defendant was indicted on had a statute of limitations of 10 years. The plea bargain that the prosecutor offered the defendant and he accepted was for a lesser charge. That lesser charge had a statute of limitations of 5 years. I can see the defendant agreeing to this knowingly and be planning to file an appeal. I have tried calling the prosecutor numerous times to discuss this as well as other issues that have made no sense to me but he is never available. So before I get too concerned I wanted to find out if there is a rule about this sort of thing that overrides the statute of limitations that I was unaware of.

Asked on 2/21/11, 8:59 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Gary Thomas Gary Thomas Law Office, P.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Not that I know of. The DA likely knows what she/he is doing.

Read more
Answered on 2/21/11, 12:57 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Texas

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now