Texas | Criminal Law
Legal Question
Heard me shoplifting?
I went to local Tractor Supply store to buy lubricant for motorcycle,I got lube off the shelf, proceeded to checkout and paid. Mgr. detained me outside the front door, and detained me after accusing me off shoplifting. Police cars came screeching in. The officers approached me, accused me of stealing, were very rough, loud, and rude, searched my person and motorcycle. I was detained for at least 30 minutes. they put on a show for the crowd that gathered. I asked them what did they think I stole? They said that an employee thought he might have heard me steal something. They did not know what it might have been, where it was concealed, or when. they thouroughly searched, then verbally harrased me trying to get me to confess to stealing, then spent severalminutes telling everyone who could hear that there would probably be drugs on the motorcycle, but after looking, without consent were not to be found. I was forced to sign a criminal trespass warning so i could not come to tractor supply to steal anymore! I have never shoplifted in my life. One of the officers told me that if i tried to sue, that he would arrest me !I believed him. Is there anything I can do to make this wrong right! I am scared of these two cops. Can they do this


